1
8/10
Cinderella – Book Review
Kids Books, Reviews / 29 July 2016

Title: Cinderella Author: Disney Publisher: Paragon Books Published: 2015 Summary From Amazon: Ella’s childhood is a happy one: she has loving parents, plenty of fields and meadows to explore, and lots of kind animal friends to play with. A sweet child, Ella warms the hearts of all who meet her. And her home is a wonderful place, the perfect little kingdom for a joyful family. But then tragedy strikes, and Ella makes a promise to her dying mother to forever have courage and be kind. She also promises her father to be patient with her new jealous stepmother and mean stepsisters. But when her father passes away, and her stepfamily turns her happy home into one filled with cruelty, this proves to be difficult. Will Ella be able to keep her promises to her parents? Find out in this wonderful retelling of the anticipated Disney live action movie! M’s Review of Cinderella: There lived a girl called Ella she had a happy life until her step mother and step sisters moved in. Her step mother and step sisters started bossing Ella around. When Ella’s dad sadly passes away, how much crueler can the step mother and step sisters get? Read and find out. More of M’s…

2
8.8/10
The Ice Dragon – Book Review
Kids Books, Reviews / 15 February 2015

Title: The Ice Dragon Author: George R.R. Martin Publisher: HarperVoyager Year of Publication: 2014 (Reprinted) Summary from Amazon: The Ice Dragon is an enchanting tale of courage and sacrifice for young readers and adults by the wildly popular author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Song of Ice and Fire series, George R.R. Martin. Lavish illustrations by acclaimed artist Luis Royo enrich this captivating and heartwarming story of a young girl and her dragon. In the world of A Song of Ice and Fire the ice dragon was a creature of legend and fear, for no man had ever tamed one. When it flew overhead, it left in its wake desolate cold and frozen land. But Adara was not afraid. For Adara was a winter child, born during the worst freeze that anyone, even the Old Ones, could remember. Adara could not remember the first time she had seen the ice dragon. It seemed that it had always been in her life, glimpsed from afar as she played in the frigid snow long after the other children had fled the cold. In her fourth year she touched it, and in her fifth year she rode upon its broad, chilled…

1
10/10
Seal Island – Book Review
Kids Books, Reviews / 23 January 2015

Title: Seal island Author: Julia Green Publisher: Oxford University Press Year of Publication: 2014 Summary From Fishpond: ‘Grace looked directly at the seal pup and spoke softly to it. ‘I’ll be back soon. Don’t give up.’ Grace is excited about her holiday, staying with Granny at her house by the sea. A whole week exploring rock pools, collecting shells, and playing on the beach – perhaps she might even get to see a baby seal? Grace makes friends with local boy Col who knows all the secrets of the Island. When Grace discovers a small seal pup, separated from its mother after a storm, she’s not sure if she can help it, but she has to try …Beautifully illustrated in black and white, this is a heart-warming tale of friendship and discovery in the wild outdoors by the author of Tilly’s Moonlight Fox… M’s Review of Seal Island The main character is called Grace. Grace is a very nice girl. She found a lost seal pup on the beach. Grace sang a song to a seal pup and made friends with it. There is a boy called Col that made friends with Grace. I recommend this book for kids 7…

0
8/10
Truly Tan: Spooked – Book Review
Kids Books, Reviews / 22 January 2015

Title: Truly Tan: Spooked Author: Jen Storer Publisher: Harper Collins Published: 2013 Summary From Fishpond: Tan is back in another deliciously spooky adventure! Book 3 in the bestselling series that kids describe as ‘seriously hilarious’ and ‘fabulously funny’. Tan and the Chosen Few have another mystery on their hands…The ‘stonies’ (stone animal statues) around Peppercorn Valley have been mysteriously disappearing. But who would steal them? What could the thief want with a stone emu or flamingo? This mystery is truly baffling! It’s a good thing Tan has the mind of a Great Detective… A brilliant chapter series for fans of Alice-Miranda, Judy Moody and The Famous Five. M’s Review of Truly Tan: Spooked The main characters are Tan Callahan, Gloria and Molly B. Tan is a bold detective. Gloria is Tan’s best friend. Molly B is Tan’s old best friend. They live in a small country. The main problem is that the stone animals are disappearing around town. They learnt about this while they were riding around town. I recommend this book because it is full of mystery and it is great storytelling. More of M’s Blog Posts

0
8/10
Timmy Failure No. 3: We Meet Again – Book Review
Kids Books, Reviews / 22 January 2015

Book Title: Timmy Failure No. 3: We Meet Again Author: Stephan Pastis Publisher: Walker Books Year Published: 2014 Summary From Amazon: His name is Failure. Timmy Failure. And his detective agency is on the verge of global domination. Global riches. Global fame. And yet the gods are throwing him curveballs: for starters, he’s on a trial period in school and to keep his place he has to get good grades and really behave. The fabled Miracle report will be the key to his success. It’s dirty business. It’s best you know nothing. But one thing is for sure – Timmy Failure will be triumphant again! C’s Book Review of Timmy Failure No.3 This book is about a boy named Timmy Failure. He is obsessed with trying to be a detective. Timmy is invited to return to his old school, the one that he got expelled from. After reluctantly going back to his school, he faces new problems. What happens when he has to do a big nature exam, a corrupt one from the previous tests is being passed around and he has to go on a camp for the test? Read and find out! This book shows to expect the unexpected,…